Two Chasers Inducted Into Racing Hall Of Fame

Aug 12, 2013 - 6:50 AM

McDynamo and Tuscalee, the respective steeplechase leaders by U.S. earnings and wins, were inducted into the Racing Hall of Fame on Aug. 9. The induction ceremony was held at Fasig-Tipton Co.’s Humphrey Finney Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

Owned by Michael Moran and trained by Sanna Hendriks, McDynamo won Eclipse Awards as champion steeplechaser in 2003, 2005 and 2006. He tops the list of U.S. steeplechase earnings with $1,310,104.

Purchased as a flat horse, McDynamo was poor in the gate and indifferent on the track. He made a strong shift to racing over fences and won his maiden jump victory at Far Hills (N.J.) in 2001. He never was defeated at the New Jersey meet and won the Grand National there five consecutive times from 2003 through 2007. He also won Far Hills’ Foxbrook Champion Hurdle for novices in 2002.

Moran accepted the Hall of Fame plaque for McDynamo.

Accepting Tuscalee’s plaque was Marilyn Ketts, daughter of Albert Smith Sr., Tuscalee’s late owner and breeder. Racing principally in the 1960s, Tuscalee was the Thoroughbred Racing Associations’ champion in 1966, when he won ten steeplechase races in 13 starts. In all, Tuscalee won a record 37 steeplechase races.

Tuscalee’s trainer, Joe Aitcheson Sr., limited Tuscalee largely to the Mid-Atlantic region because of his star’s dislike for shipping. The trainer’s son, Racing Hall of Fame member Joe Aitcheson Jr., rode Tuscalee in most of his later races.


Categories: News, Other Disciplines

Social Bar

Join Mailing List

Shopping Cart

Like Box

Chronicle Headlines

Most Popular

Like Box

Rider Spotlight

Charity Spotlight

Horse Spotlight

Like Box

Trainer Spotlight

Like Box