Sheppard Named F. Ambrose Clark Award Recipient

Sep 11, 2013 - 4:39 AM

Jonathan Sheppard, Hall of Fame trainer and multiple Eclipse Award winner, was announced as the recipient of the prestigious F. Ambrose Clark Award by the National Steeplechase Association.

The award, the highest honor in U.S. steeplechasing, is periodically presented as recognition for leadership and efforts in promoting the growth of the sport.

“Jonathan Sheppard exemplifies the finest virtues and values of American steeplechasing,” said NSA President Guy J. Torsilieri. “As a horse trainer, he has no peer. He has trained young horsemen and sent them on to highly successful careers. He is the consummate sportsman and has contributed to the sport as an owner and breeder. And, he has provided consistent leadership for American steeplechasing.”

“This is a great honor. There have been so many people who have put so much into steeplechasing, and I’m humbled to be among those receiving the F. Ambrose Clark Award,” Sheppard said.

The 72-year old native of Ashwell, England, is an active owner, breeder and trainer and also served as the National Steeplechase Association’s President from 2004 through 2006.

In receiving this award, Sheppard joins the ranks of two of his career-long partners and clients. George Strawbridge Jr., the sport’s all-time leading owner, received the F. Ambrose Clark Award in 1979, and Bill Pape was the recipient in 1988. Both Strawbridge and Pape served multiple terms as NSA President.

Named for a legendary steeplechase horseman in the first half of the 20th century, the F. Ambrose Clark Award will be presented to Sheppard on Nov. 22 at the National Steeplechase Museum in Camden, S.C. The award was most recently awarded in 2007 to Austin A. Brown.


Category: News
Tag: Chasing

Social Bar

Join Mailing List

Shopping Cart

Like Box

Chronicle Headlines

Most Popular

Like Box

Rider Spotlight

Charity Spotlight

Horse Spotlight

Like Box

Trainer Spotlight

Like Box