Bill Moroney Re-Elected USHJA President

Dec 4, 2012 - 12:58 PM
Bill Moroney was re-elected president of the USHJA at the Annual Meeting.

Bill Moroney has been re-elected president of the U.S. Hunter Jumper Association today, Dec. 4, at the USHJA Annual Meeting in Miami, Fla. Moroney will serve a four-year term, and this is the last term for which he is eligible.

“I believe out of every challenge comes positive results,” said Moroney. “The next few years of the USHJA governance transition will require commitment equal to starting the organization. We are all volunteers, working to steer this organization in the direction that best benefits our members and our sport.”

Moroney, Keedysville, Md., and Mary Babick, Freehold, N.J., both ran for the USHJA presidency. Babick was put forth by the nominating committee on Oct. 19, and Moroney initially declined to run and endorsed Babick. He later accepted a nomination from the floor.

“Mary, I want to apologize to you for any awkwardness in this situation,” said Moroney after he was elected. “Thank you for your fellowship and for your willingness to remain in the race. You’re a class act, and you gave this organization the chance to have a democratic election. I apologize for getting you in this situation.”

Moroney was elected by the outgoing USHJA Board of Directors, all of whom were present. The election took place by a secret ballot after a short presentation by each candidate.

Candidates were also elected for the three national offices and for the incoming Board of Directors. The Board comprises three national officers, representatives from hunter and jumper working groups, representatives from the affiliates council, at-large candidates and the USHJA Foundation President.

Dianne Johnson was elected treasurer, and Bob Bell withdrew his candidacy for secretary, leaving Larry Langer as the sole candidate for that position.

The board will also include the following people: Babick, Shelley Campf, Liza Boyd, Colleen McQuay, Margie Engle, Candice King, David Distler, Anne Kursinski, Cheryl Rubenstein, Debbie Bass, Susan Harding, Julie Winkel, Britt McCormick, Skip Thornbury, Bob Bell, Streett Moore, Lori Cramer and Lynn Jayne.

Babick and Distler will serve as vice presidents as the heads of the hunter and jumper working groups, respectively.

Categories: Horse Shows, News

Social Bar

Join Mailing List

Shopping Cart

Like Box

Chronicle Headlines

Most Popular

Like Box

Rider Spotlight

Charity Spotlight

Horse Spotlight

Like Box

Trainer Spotlight

Like Box